top of page

In Deep Water: Chapter Five



“Can you zoom in right here?” Nathan points to a shadow on the computer screen.

Sophie clicks to make it larger, the image morphing into thick towers of coral reaching towards the sky.

“Damn! Just another coral shelf.” Nathan rubs a palm down his face. He leans back in his chair and rolls his shoulders. Finding a shipwreck, especially unknown, would be the find of the decade. Not just for him, but for all of us.

I chew on the end of my pen, stifling a yawn. “We’ve been at this for days and all we have to show for it is a dozen reefs.”

Sophie sighs, resuming the video. “At least we’re able to take samples with the ROVs.”

Xander drums his thumbs on the desk, focus glued to the monitor. “It’s a waiting game, Em. Seeking a needle.”

I grumble. “In a needle stack, sure.”

Sophie laughs and pokes me in the side. I roll my eyes at her but can’t help my grin. I’ve never been a patient person. That was all Soph.

Xander nudges my thigh with his own...continue reading Chapter Five at Coffee House Writers.

Comentários


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page