top of page

Let’s talk about Persephone

So in last week’s post, I talked about losing my 13 month old, Persephone. So let’s talk about her.

I adopted Persephone from the Champaign County Animal Welfare League in December of 2018. It was a week after an especially difficult break up and my sister actually fought for me to get a puppy, as I was living with my parents at the time.

I was 24 years old about to get my first dog. I was beyond nervous but so very excited. The day I brought her home was a Wednesday. I found her via Petfinder and ended up stalking the Champaign County Animal Welfare League Facebook page trying to decide if she was really the one for me. That’s where I came across the picture that made me fall madly in love with her. Which I will share below:

I remember very fondly, leaving work early to go pick her up. My sister and her husband went with me to go meet her. I filled out the application, did the meet and greet, and took my baby home. It was one of the best days of my life.

Percy, as we all called her, was a mixed breed. I don’t even think the shelter knew exactly what, just that she was a hound mix. I think she also had husky in her because one of her sister’s had blue eyes, not to mention her fluffy tail and her spastic energy- she just screamed husky.

And so our adventure began. We were to grow up together, go on every adventure together.


Those plans shattered the day she died, along with a piece of myself.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page