top of page

Who else here struggles with Procrastination?

In December of last year, I got married. I also quit my job at Walmart so that I could focus my attention on the house, the kids, and my writing. It has definitely been a transition switching my mindset to that of the stay at home mom. On top of that, I’ve been struggling with burn out from working in a position where I was very unhappy. Not to mention, my crazy independent side keeps guilting me because I no longer bring in a steady income.

It’s difficult some days. Especially the days where I feel like I get nothing done. It makes me feel lazy and incompetent. I’ve always been the hard worker and the overachiever, going above and beyond to reach my incredibly high expectations. More often than not, I always fall short. And end up giving myself a complex. No wonder I struggle with time management and procrastination so much.

Lately, I’ve found writing down a routine can help so very much. Not only does it take all those overwhelming to dos and break them down, it actually makes them far from overwhelming. It makes them doable. I break them down by day so I’m not manic trying to do them all in one day after procrastinating them for a week or two and stressing myself out.

It also makes it less stressful when I can’t do whatever tasks for whatever day because the kids are sick or something’s come up that needs my attention more.

And in a household full of ADHDers, it’s a godsend. I’m still working out the kinks and pushing myself through the overwhelm and the burn out. But the best part is I don’t have to worry about a manager breathing down my neck for unrealistic expectations. Well, other than my own self, that is.

I am learning grace, however. Slowly healing that burn out and working on my dream.

And I have to say, I’m in my element. I’m writing again. Slowly, but she’s coming along. Mainly with writing this blog, I struggle with sharing my thoughts and feelings. But that’s the point. To share. To heal. To find myself in the art again.

So if you catch me rambling, sorry not sorry.

I’m a rambler. Deal with it.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page